National Association of Parliamentarians® Annual Meeting August 8 and 10, 2014 Oklahoma City, Oklahoma

MINUTES

Call to Order

President Ann Guiberson, PRP, called the annual meeting to order at 12:40 p.m. CDT on Friday, August 8, 2014 in Meeting Rooms 1-3 in the Cox Convention Center in downtown Oklahoma City. The secretary was present.

Quorum Established

More than fifty members were present and a quorum was established.

Approval of Agenda

Without objection, the agenda for the annual meeting was approved. (Attachment)

Minutes Approval Committee

The president appointed James H. Stewart, PRP; Denise R. Irminger, PRP; and Mary L. Randolph, PRP, to serve as the minutes approval committee for the annual meeting.

Introductions

The president introduced the NAP Board of Directors; the District Directors not serving on the board, NAP Parliamentarian Dr. Leonard Young, PRP; the committee chairmen; Executive Director Mike Chamberlain; Sandra Olson, PRP, president of the NAP Educational Foundation; and Alison Wallis, PRP, CP-T, president of the American Institute of Parliamentarians.

The president also recognized and thanked Training Conference Coordinator Craig Henry, PRP; Assistant Coordinator Patricia Hudson; Conference Workshop Coordinator Colette C. Trohan, PRP; and Assistant Conference Workshop Coordinator E. Marie Wilson, PRP.

Reports of Officers

President Guiberson reported on the state of the association.

Treasurer Evan A. Lemoine presented financial highlights for the period December 1, 2013, through July 31, 2014, and reviewed the annual budget.

Keynote Speaker

Liz Gutheridge, PRP, a leadership coach with Connect Consulting Group, spoke on "Making an Impact in a VUCA World."

Announcements

Patricia Hudson, 2014 Training Conference Assistant Coordinator, presented announcements.

Adjournment

The meeting adjourned at 1:48 p.m. to meet again at 11:00 a.m., Sunday, August 10, 2014.

Call to Order

President Ann Guiberson, PRP, called the annual meeting to order at 11:00 a.m., Sunday, August 10, 2014. The secretary was present.

Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag of the United States of America

The Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag of the United States of American was led by the president.

Acknowledgements

The president acknowledged the presence of members from Canada and Jeanette N. Williams, past president of NAP. The president also acknowledged the following non-members of the professional development committee for their work on modules for the professional courses: Thomas (Burke) Balch, JD, PRP; Steve Glanstein, PRP; Rachel Glanstein, PRP; Sarah Merkle, JD, PRP; Sandra Olson, PRP; and Nancy Sylvester, PRP. The president also acknowledged the following new members, all of whom joined NAP this weekend: Jacquelyn Anthony, Georgia; Carolyn Robertson, Washington; and Sheila Shaver, Ontario.

Introduction and Greetings

Alison Wallis, PRP, CP-T, president, brought greetings from the American Institute of Parliamentarians.

Announcements

The president made announcements concerning the 2014 Dahms-Bierbaum Workshop and the District Two Workshop.

NAP Educational Foundation Officers and Trustees

The president introduced the new officers and the other trustees of the NAP Educational Foundation: President Nancy Sylvester, PRP; Vice-President Sandra Olson, PRP; Secretary Leonard Young, PRP; Treasurer Ronald R. Stinson, PRP; Trustees Mary L. Randolph, PRP; and Gwendolyne C. Brown, PRP; and Ann Guiberson, ex officio.

Committee Report

Sandra Olson, PRP, chairman of the NAP Membership Extension and Retention Committee, presented PEER Awards to the following members:

District 1 – Jonathan Jacobs, PRP

<u>District 2</u> – Dr. Rose L. Acker-McIver; Ferial S. Bishop, PRP; Boniface Manning; Belma L. McClaskey, PRP-R; Susan Eads Role, JD, PRP

District 3 - Shirley J. Brodbeck, RP; Pat Summers, RP

<u>District 4</u> - Edna C. Arrington, PRP; Julia C. Boayue, PRP; Steven J. Britton, PRP; Joyce

A. Brown-Watkins, PRP; Gretchen C. Denton, RP; Jewel Johnson Jones, RP

<u>District 5</u> – Virginia Berberick, PRP; Lynna Gene Cook, PRP; Joy Freeland, PRP; Denise

Irminger, PRP; Laura Kaiser; Larry Martin, PRP; Patricia Martin; Lucretia Ottaway;

Karen Watson, PRP; Dr. Leonard Young, PRP

District 6 - Ella Carlson, PRP; Rhonda DeVonne Clark-Randle

District 7 – Paul E. McClintock, PRP

<u>District 8</u> – Harold R. (Bob) Hall; TennieBee M. Hall; Jacqueline Marazzi, PRP

Invitations

Rosalie Stroman, PRP, convention coordinator, extended an invitation to the NAP Biennial Convention to be held September 4-7, 2015, at the Crystal Gateway Marriott, in Arlington, Virginia. TennieBee M. Hall was awarded a free night at the convention hotel.

Gayla Stone, PRP, conference coordinator, extended an invitation to the NAP Training Conference to be held August 26-28, 2016 in Denver, Colorado.

Larry Martin, PRP, travel agent, presented information on the NAP Educational Foundation's eight-day cruise, which will sail from Budapest on the Danube River on April 26, 2015.

Closing Remarks-Appreciation

The president expressed appreciation to Leadership Conference Coordinator Nancy Sylvester, PRP; Keynote Speaker Liz Guthridge, PRP; Workshop Coordinator Colette Trohan, PRP; Assistant Workshop Coordinator E. Marie Wilson, PRP; and Training Conference Coordinator Craig Henry, PRP.

Adjournment

The meeting adjourned at 11:58 a	ι.m.
----------------------------------	------

Ann L. Rempel, PRP
NAP Secretary

Minutes Approval Committee:

	August 14, 2014
James H. Stewart, PRP	Date approved
	August 14, 2014
Denise R. Irminger, PRP	Date approved
	August 14, 2014
Mary L. Randolph, PRP	Date approved

National Association of Parliamentarians® Annual Meeting August 8 and 10, 2014 Oklahoma City, Oklahoma

AGENDA

- 1. Welcome and Opening Craig Henry
- 2. Presentation of Colors: 9th and 10th (Horse) Cavalry Association
- 3. Native American Interpretation The Lord's Prayer
- 4. Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag of the United States of America
- 5. Recess for Lunch
- 6. Call annual meeting to order
- 7. Approval of Agenda
- 8. Appointment of Minutes Approval Committee
- 9. Reports of Officers:

Ann Guiberson, President

Evan A. Lemoine, Treasurer

- 10. Keynote Speaker, Liz Gutheridge
- 11. Acknowledgements/Introductions
- 12. Announcements
- 13. MERC Report Sandra Olson PEER Awards
- 14. Invitations

Invitation to 2015 Convention Rosalie Stroman

Invitation to 2016 NAP Training Conference Gayla Stone

Invitation to Foundation Cruise

- 15. Closing Remarks
- 16. Adjournment