NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF PARLIAMENTARIANS® Board of Directors Regular Meeting September 7, 2015

Call to Order:

President Mary Randolph called the regular meeting of the NAP Board of Directors to order at 3:43 pm EDT on Monday, September 7, 2015. The meeting was held at the Marriott Gateway Hotel, Fairfax Room, in Arlington, Virginia.

Welcome: President Randolph welcomed board members, advisers and guests.

Board Members Present: President Mary Randolph PRP, Vice-President Jim Jones PRP, Secretary Teresa Stone PRP, Treasurer Wanda Sims PRP, Director Darlene Allen PRP, Director Ann Rempel PRP, Director Alison Wallis PRP, Director Joyce Brown-Watkins PRP, and Director Kevin Connelly PRP.

Advisers Present: Parliamentarian Roger Hanshaw, PRP and NAP Executive Director Cynthia Launchbaugh.

Guests: Gene Bierbaum, Burke Balch, District Eight Director Carrie Dickson, District Five Director Denise Irminger, John Rempel, M Carling, Rhonda Clark-Randle

Quorum: With nine voting members present, a quorum was established.

Adoption of the Agenda: Without objection, the agenda was adopted.

Appointments to the Commission on Credentialing:

According to newly adopted NAP Bylaw Article X, Commission on Credentialing, there shall be six members. Without objection the following individuals were elected:

- 1. Burke Balch PRP 3 year term
- 2. Eugene Bierbaum, PRP 3 year term
- 3. Wanda Davis, PRP 1 year term
- 4. Gail Knapp, PRP 2 year term
- 5. Joy Myers, PRP 1 year term
- 6. Rosalie Stroman, PRP 2 year term

The Chair will be elected by the Commission.

Appointment to NAP Committees: Without objection, the following appointments were made:

- Ethics Committee: K. Ann McCartney, Chair; Member: Chris Dickey, 4 year term.
- 2) **Bylaws Committee**: Weldon Merritt, Chair; Members: Ruth Ryan, Lucy Anderson, Richard Brown, **Emma Faulk**. **Ron Avedisian, Joe Theobold**TGS 12/8/2015

Minutes, NAP Board of Directors Regular Meeting – 9/7/2015 Page 1 of 3 Amended 12/8/2015 TGS 12/8/2015

- 3) Communications and Public Marketing Committee: Julie Pioch, Chair; Members: Brandon Walters, Mike Peck, Susan Eads Role
- 4) **NP**: Martha Haun, Editor; Assistant Editor: Dana Dickson
 - a. Review Committee: Betty Tunstall, Chair; Members: Dennis Clark, Beverly Przybylski
 - b. Parliamentary Research Committee: Jonathan Jacobs Chair; Members: Steve Britton, Roger Hanshaw
- 5) **Education and Resources**: David Mezzara, Chair; Members: Eleanor "Coco" Siewert, Carrie Dickson, Azella Collins
- 6) **Membership and Registration Examiners Committee:** Larry Martin Chair; Emma Faulk, Patricia Getchell, Lorraine Talbot
- 7) Professional Development Committee: Marcella Morrison Chair; Sheryl Womble
- 8) District Directors: VP Jim Jones, Chair
- 9) International Committee: M Carling, Chair; Members: Lori Lukinuk, Daniel Ross, Don Freese
- 10) **Youth Committee:** Janice Strand, Chair; Member: Laura Meade, Kendra O'Toole, John "Kirk" Overbey
- 11) **Technology Committee:** Greg Goodwiller, Chair; Members: Web: Kevin Wendt, Web Master: Paul McClintock; Assistants: Jeff Weston, Steven Cook, Lori Lukinuk, Bethany Prykucki
- 12) Leadership Conference 2017: Cynthia Mayo, Chair

Previously Appointed:

National Training Conference 2016: NTC Coordinator, Gayla Stone; NTC Assistance Coordinator, Dollie McPartlin

NAP Convention 2017: Convention Coordinator, Marcella Morrison; Assistant Convention Coordinator, Cynthia Bell. Workshop Coordinator: Mary Remson; Assistance Workshop Coordinator: Debra Underwood;

Announcements: The Board of Directors is to report to Salon 4 at 5:30pm in order for formal pictures to be taken before the Installation Banquet.

The president announced that the next NAP Board meeting will be held beginning at 9:00 am EDT September 8, 2015. A Board orientation will be held prior to the Business Meeting.

Adjournment: Without objection, the	meeting was adjourned at 4:14pm (EDT).
Teresa Stone, PRP NAP Secretary	

Minutes Approval Committee:

	<u>September 24, 2015</u>
Kevin Connelly PRP	Approved
	<u>September 24, 2015</u>
Alison Wallis PRP	Approved
	<u>September 24, 2015</u>
Jim Jones PRP	Approved